RSS Feed

The Last Summer

Posted on

It is coming:  my last summer.

Okay, so I know it won’t be my last summer, because I anticipate living through many more summers; however, this is my final summer as a student.  Maybe someday the PhD will come into play, but, right now, the only thing I can think about is the day when I won’t be a student any longer and get paid to do what I studied for a long time.

So, back to the last summer part.  I feel like I need to soak up this one and have plenty of slow, lazy mornings, because I don’t know that I’ll have many opportunities.

Also, I feel the need to:

grow vegetables. sew something.  pick berries.  read books.  collect vinyl.  do yoga.  walk around the city by myself [and apparently with a can of pepper spray, since I’ve been informed urban-dwelling-women carry this stuff normally… oops].  watch the sunrise.  hike mountains.  go camping.  write some poems.  read more poems than i write.  make sushi.  watch Downton Abbey.  visit Wisconsin.  and maybe Chicago [I’ve had an itch to explore it recently.].  and swirl around Pirate’s Cove for hours, chatting away.  making sangria and drinking the majority of the pitcher.  live in sweats.  and let my hair dry in the air and wear a messy braid every day.  Get tan[ner than I already am].  Make a headboard and a distressed bench for my new apartment.  and listen to some good music.

I’ll do plenty of other things, I’m sure.  But all that to say, summer is going to be complete bliss.  I am so close, I could cry!

About ashcmorris

World traveler. Red wine drinker. Indie and pop music listener. Reader. Experience-Craver. Redemption seeker. Slow-riser. Late-night writer. Cupcake baker. Social worker. Blue pen disliker. *Yep, it's that simple with me.

One response »

  1. Please can I join you on your lazy swirl at Pirate’s Cove? Maybe with Alissa? I want to join you on so many of these things… Hold me to it? I’m already overwhelmed by the busyness that my summer holds!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

