RSS Feed

Posted on

Sometimes I forget that our lives won’t look like this forever.  This makes me both happy and sad, depending mostly on the day and whether or not I’ve consumed any chocolate.  Rapidly, our small, beloved world is opening up to include other people, places, and visions.  It’s an exciting time.

A baby.

A foreign country.

A trip to the southern half of this hemisphere to find a story.

A graduate degree.  And a tiny, growing vision inside myself; it’s quite exciting.

A doctoral degree.

A new friend here and there.

A new apartment [in an old neighborhood].

And a boy.

 

Love, new and old.  Loss, painful but necessary.  And in all of it, life breathes, which is the most beautiful and hopeful part.

 

But to the group:  you’ll always be my group, no matter what, and I won’t look at a new one the way I look at ours.  No one will ever know the things we do, the something somethings inside.  Those are our keeps.

This is what a blessed life looks like, I think.  I might be overwhelmed by all of it, but I am so incredibly thankful in this moment.

About ashcmorris

World traveler. Red wine drinker. Indie and pop music listener. Reader. Experience-Craver. Redemption seeker. Slow-riser. Late-night writer. Cupcake baker. Social worker. Blue pen disliker. *Yep, it's that simple with me.

Leave a Reply

