RSS Feed

Something I Read Today

Posted on

I read something every day, which is the core nature of studenthood.  Lately, I’ve read all sorts of intriguing things, mostly about my research project (vulnerability factors putting youth at risk for being victimized by sex trafficking) and anti-oppressive practice (white privilege, heternormativity, construction of cognitive binaries, etc.).  A bunch of academic talk for sure, but I do enjoy a lot of it, mostly because I can’t walk away from most of this quarter’s readings without feeling challenged and questioning a norm I’ve accepted my whole life…

After reading a ton of theory and community organization patterns, I was less than thrilled to pick up a book about culturally competent therapy techniques to use with African American families, which is an all-inclusive joke of a title if you ask me, but inside I stumbled across this little nugget:

“Beauty was created by an external force, which African American culture reveres traditionally as God or an eternally spiritual force.  Ugly, on the other hand, was created by people.”

That is kick-ass if you ask me.  People created ugly.  I love it!  And the chapter actually provided some intriguing insight about African American spiritually, especially the respect for rhythm and movement in life that could benefit Western culture significantly.

See, sometimes social work school isn’t so bad 🙂

About ashcmorris

World traveler. Red wine drinker. Indie and pop music listener. Reader. Experience-Craver. Redemption seeker. Slow-riser. Late-night writer. Cupcake baker. Social worker. Blue pen disliker. *Yep, it's that simple with me.

Leave a Reply

