RSS Feed

A Good One

This weekend was good.  That’s the only word to describe it.  Excruciating at times, for many reasons, but oh so good.  This morning I read this little quotation, which I’d heard before, and it brings deep joy every time it runs into my life:

“Grace is something you can never get but can only be given. There’s no way to earn it or deserve it or bring it about anymore than you can deserve the taste of raspberries and cream or earn good looks. A good night’s sleep is grace and so are good dreams. Most tears are grace. The smell of rain is grace. Somebody loving you is grace.”   – Frederick Buechner

I love those simple words, because they are irrevocably true.  And this weekend I experienced all of those things, all those graces.  It’s weekends like these that remind me of how full my life is of things and people I neither appreciate enough or deserve.

But tonight my heart is thankful for all of it, the old and new, and full of a quiet peace.  I feel wrapped in a blanket, reassured.  And happy, I feel very, truly happy.

 

And a P.S. for my girls-That sleep away was the simultaneous best and worst… mostly best.  But let’s please, oh please, do it again.  Even if that’s in five years.  LOVE LOVE LOVE

About ashcmorris

World traveler. Red wine drinker. Indie and pop music listener. Reader. Experience-Craver. Redemption seeker. Slow-riser. Late-night writer. Cupcake baker. Social worker. Blue pen disliker. *Yep, it's that simple with me.

Leave a Reply

