RSS Feed

My Favorite Grooves

Growing up I tried to be a musician.  Even though I had a good run with the guitar, which included a brief attempt at a high school basement band, no instrument stuck.  Despite abandoning band and choir, I developed an ever-growing obsession with discovering new music.  I listen to mostly anything except country, because, well, country isn’t music.  Hey-O!  I went there!  Also, I make playlists for everything, because music makes things wonderful, adding that little something like a cocoa powder dusting.  So here’s my year-long listening list, including some new ones and old favorites and albums that stay(ed) on repeat for months.

*Buyers/Listeners/Kill-Joys Beware:  This IS NOT a critique, so don’t hold me accountable for my poor or refined taste.

Loved 2011 Albums:

My favorite, sultry duo. To be listened to with a glass of red...

Over the Rhine, The Long Surrender

Hometown Pride. Good for any time of day, really.

Bon Iver, Bon Iver

Enthralled with the first listen.

Feist, Metals

I hadn't listened to a whole lot of Fleet Foxes before the summer. Impressed.

Fleet Foxes, Helplessness Blues

Played it in my car for about three, consecutive months. No shame.

The Head and the Heart, The Head and the Heart

Depressing as hell but more beautiful than ever.

The Civil Wars, Barton Hallow

Not sure why, but I'm drawn...

James Vincent McMorrow, Early In the Morning

My 2011 Newbies:

She opened for Bon Iver, and I smiled the whole set.

Liann La Havas – Lost & Found

Recorded in a basement. Saw him in a hole-in-the-wall bar. Amazing!

Youth Lagoon – The Year of Hibernation

It must be the beard.

Rayland Baxter, Rayland Baxter

Other Noteworthy Albums Released in 2011 that I Enjoyed Thoroughly:

Ryan Adams, Ashes and Fire

Beirut, The Rip Tide

Radiohead, The King of Limbs

The Decemberists, The King Is Dead

Foster the People , Torches

She & Him, A Very She & Him Christmas (listening to it since October!)

2011 Releases I have Yet to Listen to At Length (but can’t wait!):  

The Black Keys, El Camino

Wilco, The Whole Love

Seryn, This Is Where We Are

The Antlers, Burst Apart

On Repeat Repeat Repeat: (in addition to my above favorites)

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Bob Dylan, Angus & Julia Stone, St. Vincent, Noah Gundersen, Lucy Wainright Roach, The Beatles, The Avett Brothers, Lisa Hannigan, Noah and the Whale, 80s hits, and the Givers

Artists I Wish Would Release a New Album in 2012:

Sigur Ros, Barcelona, Damien Rice, the Avett Brothers, etc. etc. etc.

Clearly I could go on and on, but I won’t.  Happy Listening!  Feel free to leave new recommendations or reminders of those I left out.

 

About ashcmorris

World traveler. Red wine drinker. Indie and pop music listener. Reader. Experience-Craver. Redemption seeker. Slow-riser. Late-night writer. Cupcake baker. Social worker. Blue pen disliker. *Yep, it's that simple with me.

Leave a Reply

